Project

General

Profile

Bug #891

Volume resets when you stop a track and start a new one

Added by Tupper . 10 days ago. Updated 9 days ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Minor
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
-
Start date:
June 06, 2019
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Affects version:

Description

Observed on 3.10 on Ubuntu 18.04.2.

Repro:
  1. Start a track. Track can either be a local file or a remote stream/file.
  2. Adjust the volume (ex: to 50%)
  3. Stop the track with the Stop button.
  4. Start the same track, or another track, by double-clicking the track.

Expected:
The newly selected track starts, retaining the previously set volume.

Actual:
The newly selected track starts, but the volume resets to 100%.

History

#1 Updated by Michael Schwendt 10 days ago

Which audio output plugin do you use? (menu File > Settings > Audio > Output Settings)

#2 Updated by Tupper . 9 days ago

Michael Schwendt wrote:

Which audio output plugin do you use? (menu File > Settings > Audio > Output Settings)

PulseAudio.

So normally, my setup involves sending audio over the network to another PC via a Pulse network sink. However, that PC recently exploded (rest in piece, 9900k) and while I'm waiting on a replacement, I'm using the PC that's running Audacious as my main machine. The bug doesn't occur when Pulse isn't dumping into a network sink.

#3 Updated by Michael Schwendt 9 days ago

The bug doesn't occur when Pulse isn't dumping into a network sink.

Well, it is PulseAudio server that remembers stream/device volume levels and restores them on a per user/per application basis. Audacious doesn't need to save and restore the volume levels.

Also available in: Atom PDF